image for Historic Site item typeSomeries Castle

Historic Site, free entry

Contact

Mr Jonathan Prosser

Address

Hyde,
Bedfordshire,
LU2 9PL

Details

Someries castle's name was derived from William de Someries who had a residence on the site. The site was acquired by Magnate Lord Wenlock in 1430 and work commenced on building the mansion. The house is unique in that it is regarded as one of the first brick buildings in England. Demolished in the 1700s, the fine brickwork can still be seen in the remains of the gatehouse.

Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)

Opening details

At any reasonable time.

Prices

Free entry

Directions

See location of Someries Castle on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: TL 119201  Lat: 51.86887 Long: -0.37483

Adjacent to Luton Airport, the property is accessed via Copthall Road (a single track road) from Lower Harpenden Road (B653), then via a unmade farm track which is not recommended for motor vehicles. Alternative, unsigned verge parking is available around the commencement of the farm track, at its junction with Copt Hall Road approximately 550m from the property. Rail: Luton (5 miles).
There is limited verge parking available adjacent to entrance, but vehicular access to this point, via unmade farm track, is not recommended. Alternative, unsigned verge parking (at drivers own risk) is available around the commencement of the farm track at its junction with Copt Hall Road, which is about 550m from the property.

Facilities

  • Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)