The Chapel of St Mary on the Mount, known as the Red Mount Chapel, was built between 1483-85 by Robert Curraunt for William Spynke, the Benedictine prior of Lynn. It was for use by pilgrims travelling to the shrine of Our Lady at Walsingham. The chapel was built on ‘the hylle called the Lady of the Mounte’, on the line of the town’s defences. The brick-built chapel is octagonal, with buttresses at each corner. It has three entrances, the one at the rear probably being used by the priest.
The Red Mount is the highest point of The Walks offering elevated view points of the landscape from the structure itself and from the mound which partially surrounds it.
The structure is unique and its importance is reflected in its status as a Scheduled Ancient monument/Grade 1 listed building.
The late 15th Century Red Mount Chapel was a wayside chapel for pilgrims on their way to the shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham. The upper chapel of 1506 has a fan vaulted roof, further decorated with quatrefoils which inspired the design of the pilgrimage trail plaque.
Also featured in the Discover King’s Lynn Heritage Trail map, free copies are available from King’s Lynn Tourist Information Centre, and also featured in guided town walks in King’s Lynn.
The Red Mount is open each year alongside the iconic South Gate from April to early September, and is also open during Heritage Open Day each year in early September.
Access is restricted and not suitable for wheelchair users (please call before your visit).
Both Red Mount Chapel and South Gate are open May to Mid-September on Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays from 1.00pm – 4.00pm. For all open days please phone 01553 763044 in advance to check details.
Opening times — Free Entry
Red Mount is open every Wednesday, Saturday, and Sunday from mid-May until mid-September between 1pm and 4pm.
On Heritage Sunday opening times will be from 10am-4pm.